Car Accident Attorneys in Metairie, Louisiana
Every year, motor vehicle accidents are responsible for physical injuries, hospitalizations, and fatalities in Louisiana and across the United States. Depending on the severity of the crash, victims may sustain bruises, cuts, sprains, whiplash, fractures, traumatic brain injuries, head injury, concussion, or even death. If you were hurt in a car accident caused by a negligent party's actions in Louisiana, you might be entitled to pursue damages.
No one should have to go through the aftermath of a car crash alone. At Law Office of Bruce C. Betzer, our attorneys have devoted their careers to offering experienced legal services and advocating for the best interests of car accident victims and their families. Our killed Louisiana personal injury attorneys can evaluate all of the facts of your unique situation and explore your options to seek damages. We strive to assert your rights and help you pursue fair financial compensation for your injuries, damages, or losses.
The Law Office of Bruce C. Betzer proudly serves clients across Metairie, Louisiana, and the surrounding areas of Jefferson Parish, New Orleans, Chalmette, and St. Tammany Parish.
Liability for Car Accidents in Louisiana
Louisiana is an "at-fault" state for motor vehicle accidents. According to the state's fault system, the driver who caused the car accident (at-fault party) may hold financial and civil liability for any bodily injury, property damages, and other accident-related losses suffered by the victims. In order to seek damages, the claimant or injured person can proceed by:
Filing a first-party injury claim with their own insurer
Filing a third-party claim with the insurer of the at-fault driver
Filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver in civil court
An experienced Louisiana car accident attorney can help you understand your options to recover damages after the crash and help file your insurance claim or lawsuit.
Louisiana Insurance Requirements
Louisiana motorists are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance with the coverage limits below:
$15,000 liability coverage for bodily injuries for one person
$30,000 liability coverage for total bodily injuries per accident involving two or more persons
$25,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident
Essentially, the basic liability insurance coverage will help pay for the medical expenses, property damages, and other accident-related costs of the injured party up to the policy limits.
State Laws Addressing Personal Injury Claims
Here are some Louisiana state statutes and rules addressing reporting a traffic crash, the time limit for filing claims, and the amount of compensation which you may recover.
Reporting a Car Accident
According to Louisiana laws, the driver involved in an accident must report the incident to the local police department—the state police station or nearest sheriff's office—if it results in injury to or death of any person or property damage of more than $500.
Statute of Limitations
What's more, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Louisiana, including auto accidents, is one year from the date the incident occurred. This means that the injured person must commence a civil action to recover damages within one year of the car accident or injury.
Comparative Negligence in Louisiana
Keep in mind that Louisiana operates using the pure comparative fault system. According to this system, accident victims may be entitled to recover damages even if their actions contributed to the incident. However, the amount of compensation you may receive will be reduced by your degree or fault.
For example, if you are awarded $60,000 in compensation for your auto accident injuries, but the jury found you to be 30% at fault for the crash, your compensation would be reduced by $18,000. Hence, you will only be able to recover $42,000 from the initial award.
Under Louisiana's pure comparative fault system, you will still be entitled to pursue damages even if you were up to 99% at fault for the car accident or injury.
Filing a Wrongful Death Claim
Wrongful death can be described as a preventable death caused by another person's negligence, carelessness, or wrongful act. In Louisiana, a wrongful death suit may be brought to recover damages if a person dies due to the fault of another.
Who Can File?
The following individuals may be eligible to file a wrongful death action in the state of Louisiana:
The surviving spouse and child or children of the decedent
The surviving parents of the decedent
The surviving siblings of the decedent
The surviving grandparents of the decedent
In addition, the wrongful death claim must be filed within one (1) year from the date of the victim's death. A trusted attorney can help file your wrongful death suit and recover fair financial compensation for your untimely loss.
Work With an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney
Being involved in any kind of accident on the road can be a difficult and unsettling experience. Such a traumatic event can affect your physical, financial, and mental health. However, you don't have to suffer the financial challenges and pain all alone. When injured in a car accident, you should act quickly and retain an experienced personal injury attorney to protect your rights.
Over the years, our attorneys at the Law Office of Bruce C. Betzer have successfully helped clients recover millions of dollars in verdicts and settlements. Using our extensive knowledge, we can guide you through the complex car accident claims process. We will stand by your side every step of the way and help you and your family move forward.
Car Accident Attorneys in Metairie, Louisiana
If you were involved in a negligent car accident, you may pursue fair financial compensation. Contact us at Law Office of Bruce C. Betzer to schedule a simple case evaluation. Our reliable team can offer you the personalized attention, legal counsel, and representation you need during this difficult time.